surface area :                   nearly 50.000 km²

number of inhabitants:    5.5 million

density of population:    110 inhabitants per km²

form of government:        republic

scenery:                           mountainous, with extensive lowlands in the west

bordering countries:        Poland in the north
Ukrain in the east
Hungary in the south
Austria in the south-east
Czechia in the west

monetary unit:                Euro

national holiday:             1 September = Constitutional Day

national anthem:              Nad Tatrou sa blýska (Thunderstorm over the Tatra)

time zone:                        GMT + 1

country code, telephone: +421

country code, post:          SK

top level domain:             .sk